The SAT Reasoning Test (formerly Scholastic Aptitude Test and Scholastic Assessment Test) is a standard test for college admissions in the United States and other foreign countries. The SAT is owned, published and developed by the College Board and was once developed, published and scored by the Educational Testing Service (ETS). Since the SAT’s introduction, in 1901, its name and scoring has changed several times. In 2005, the test was renamed as “SAT Reasoning Test” with possible scores from 600 to 2400 combining test results from three 800-point sections (math, critical reading and writing) along with other subsections scored separately. Some important information about SAT is given below:

Type Paper-based standardized test
Developer / administrator College Board , Educational Testing Service.
Knowledge / skills tested Writing, critical reading, mathematics.
Purpose Admission to undergraduate programs of universities or colleges.
Duration 3 hours and 45 minutes
Score / grade range 200–800 (in 10-point increments) on each of three sections (total 600–2400).
Essay scored on scale of 0–12, in 1-point increments.
Offered Seven times annually
Countries / regions Worldwide
Languages English
Annual no. of test takers Over 1.67 million high school graduates in the class of 2014 [1]
Prerequisites / eligibility criteria No official prerequisite. Intended for high school students. Fluency in English assumed.
Fee US$ 52.5 to US$94.5, depending on country.[2]
Scores / grades used by Most universities and colleges offering undergraduate programs in the U.S.